Participation and achievement for the first year of national diploma provision

Added By Infochimps

These tables show early statistics on participation and achievement in Diploma learning during the first year of the Diploma programme. The Diploma is a new qualification which was introduced in schools and colleges in the academic year 2008/09 with an initial choice of five subjects, known as lines of learning. They can be taken by any pupil from the age of 14 and are available at different levels from Foundation (equivalent to 5 GCSEs at grades D-G), Higher (7 GCSEs at grades A*-C), Progression (2.5 A levels) and Advanced (3.5 A levels). At all levels the Diploma incorporates a mixture of practical experience and classroom learning. The majority of the Diplomas are taken over two years but some learners can choose to take a Diploma in one year.

Source: Department for Children Schools and Families (DCSF) from Diploma Aggregation System (DAS) and National Pupil Database

Publisher: Department for Children Schools and Families (DCSF)

Geographies: County/Unitary Authority, Government Office Region (GOR), National

Geographic coverage: England

Time coverage: 2008/09

Type of data: Administrative data

Notes: The figures come from the Diploma Aggregation System (DAS), which measures the number of learners registered on a Diploma course. This data has then been matched to the National Pupil Database.

Import source: DATA4NR-data4nr-export-13-01-2010.csv
External reference: DATA4NR-1367
National statistic: no
Geographic coverage: 100000: England
Update frequency: Annually
Temporal coverage from: 2008
Department: Department for Children, Schools and Families
Temporal coverage to: 2009