National Conference of State Legislatures - Identity Theft State Statutes

Added By Infochimps

[From the Site]

Identity Theft State Statutes

Last updated: August 31, 2010

NCSL Staff Contact: Heather Morton, Denver

Identity theft occurs when someone uses another person’s personally identifying information, like a person’s name, Social Security number, or credit card number or other financial information, without permission, to commit fraud or other crimes.

This chart summarizes the criminal penalties, restitution and identity theft passport laws. Every state has a law regarding identity theft or impersonation. Twenty-nine states, Guam, and the District of Columbia have specific restitution provisions for identity theft. Three states—Iowa, Kentucky and Tennessee—have forfeiture provisions for identity theft crimes. Eleven states—Arkansas, Delaware, Iowa, Maryland, Mississippi, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Ohio, Oklahoma and Virginia—have created identity theft passport programs to help victims from continuing identity theft.