Gross Domestic Product in Current and Constant (2000) Price Levels by Country: 1990 to 2004

Added By Infochimps

The Statistical Abstract files are distributed by the US Census Department as Microsoft Excel files. These files have data mixed with notes and references, multiple tables per sheet, and, worst of all, the table headers are not easily matched to their rows and columns.

A few files had extraneous characters in the title. These were corrected to be consistent. A few files have a sheet of crufty gibberish in the first slot. The sheet order was shuffled but no data were changed.

The tables that were changed (this is table 1316):

0166 0257 0362 0429 0445 0446 0459 0461 0462 0464 0465 0466 0467
0469 0479 0480 0481 0482 0483 0484 0485 0486 0487 0559 0628 0629
1144 1227 1231

This dataset consists of a table of 43 rows and 30 columns.

16,489 represents $16,489,000,000,000. PPP stands for purchasing power parity. Except as noted, based on the System of National Accounts, 1993; for details, see source


  1. The goods and services produced in different countries should be valued
    consistently if the differences observed are meant to reflect real
    differences in the volumes of goods and services produced. The use of
    purchasing power parities (PPPs) instead of exchange rates is intended to
    achieve this objective. PPPs show how many units of currency are needed
    in one country to buy the same amount of goods and services which one
    unit of currency will buy in the other country. See text of this section.
  2. Based on constant (2000) price data converted to U.S. dollars using
    2000 PPPs.
  3. Excluding Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland, and Slovakia.
  4. OECD Europe: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece,
    Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway,
    Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom.
    European Union: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland,
    Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, and United Kingdom.
    Euro zone: Austria, Belgium, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland,
    Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, and Spain.
    Major seven (G-7): United States, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, United
    Kingdom, and Japan.
  5. Includes overseas departments.
  6. Based on System of National Accounts, 1968.


Public Domain (Government Work)

This dataset was prepared by the government and is therefore in the public domain. There are no restrictions upon its use.